Liver

If you ever asked me if I would eat liver, I would promptly tell you no. I’ve trained myself over the course of my life to not like foods. Whether it’s because of the taste, the look or the texture, I have done a good job of convincing myself I don’t like certain things. Now as I learn more about nutrition and using food for healing, I’m learning that there are a lot of foods on my “do not like” list that are actually really good! Now I have never had liver before so I can’t actually say I don’t like it, but it seems weird. What I didn’t know is that it is PACKED full of good stuff. Liver is very nutrient dense and consuming it is very beneficial for your health. You can check out more about the benefits of liver here.

Many on the Autoimmune Paleo diet swear by it’s healing properties. So I’m going to give it a try. The recipe I am using is from autoimmune-paleo by Mickey Trescott.

Here are some pictures of the process:

20150324_200529

I used side pork instead of bacon (on accident). Jenn and I bought this thinking it was just really good looking bacon, they are different but I think it is just as good. The side pork and beef liver are from a farm about two hours south of us called Redmond Heritage Farms.

Here is what the liver looks like before it is cooked:

20150324_202224

Liver and onions cooking.

20150324_202601

Here is the Pâté finished and packaged:

20150324_204754

I decided to try a bite of the liver and onions plain before I processed it with the side pork. Oh my goodness I LOVED it! Who would have thought liver actually tasted so good. My advice is to try it even if it sounds weird, you might be surprised.

20150324_203536

One thought on “Liver

Leave a Reply

