Breakfast batch cooking

I made a root vegetable breakfast hash to get me through the week.  I have early clinic hours this week so I need something quick, easy and nourishing to get me through the hectic day.

Root Vegetable Breakfast Hash
4 servings
1 large sweet potato cubed
1 rutabaga cubed
2 parsnips sliced small
1/2 red onion
Rosemary minced
Oregano
Thyme
Salt
Pepper
2 tbsp extra virgin olive oil

Combine diced/cubed root vegetables into a pot of boiling water. Cook for about 10-15 minutes.  You want the roots to be soft but not mushy.

While the root vegetable are boiling,  combine the seasoning and the onion in a skillet with 1 tbsp extra virgin olive oil. You can cook the onion to you liking,  I carmelize them which reduces the FODMAP, but still allows me to eat onions. 

image

Pull the roots from the water and strain them.  Next,  add the roots to the cooked onions in the pan along with the second tablespoon of olive oil.  Again,  cook to your liking.  I like mine crispy to I cook them to a nice and crispy golden brown. 

image

Package and enjoy!

image

Note: I’m currently doing some research on why certain starchy roots are ok while others are not.  I’ll let you know when I find out!

Leave a Reply

